July Stitch Fix Review

Stitch Fix

In the midst of all the craziness going on at our house I had a great mail day!  My July Stitch Fix arrived!  If you are not familiar with Stitch Fix it is a clothing service for women sizes 0/XS–14/XL, petite sizes and maternity included.  Basically you pay a $20 styling fee (which is credited back to you if you keep something from the box) fill out a style profile, including notes about the oddities of your body, because lets face it, we all have them, and they send you a box of 5 items styled especially to suit your taste.  If you keep all 5 items you get a 25% on the whole box.  They even let you link your Pinterest board.  The virtual wardrobe you have been dying to have can slowly become a reality over time.

I decided to sign up for Stitch Fix when shopping for clothes became torturous.  I needed to look professional for work and still have clothes to wear on weekends that didn’t make me look like a bum but it was exhausting to find these things.  I don’t like to spend hours at the store trying things on and I am one of those people who will buy something because it’s a good price and looks pretty cute.  The beauty of Stitch Fix is you get to try everything on at home with the other things in your closet.  So you can see if you already have a cardigan that will work over that dress or tank or you can try pieces on with your jewelry, shoes, etc.  They send styling cards and a personal note from your stylist to help you figure out what to wear with your pieces.  The best part: there are no lines, no weird dressing room lighting, no guilt over skipping a good deal and you can force your significant other help you decide if something fits right. Stitch Fix gives you three days to mull is over and a prepaid envelope/bag to send back the things you don’t want to keep, you just have to drop it off at the post office.

I like clothes and I like getting mail and as my sisters know, fashion shows have always been a thing in the Keys house, especially when new school clothes were hanging in our closets.  So Stitch Fix is like a dream come true.  I have been using the service for about a year now and have had one fix where I kept everything and have never lost my styling fee by sending everything back.  I usually keep 1-2 items.  The price points can be a little high but so far I have found they are good quality pieces that will last.  You can sign up to receive a fix every 2-3 weeks, every month (that’s what I do) or every other month and can stop them at any time.  Before they send your fix they ask you to write a note telling your stylist what you need/want.  Have an event coming up? Ask for a cocktail type dress.  Moving to Oregon from Arizona? Ask for a raincoat (I just did this, can’t wait to see what they have!)  You may not get exactly what you want right away so always ask a few months in advance.  Also, always try everything on.  Even if you hate it.  Sometimes it looks great and sometimes the item you loved is just not right for you.  Take the full three days to decide and only keep what you love.

If you are interested in trying this out please use my link so I can get a $25 credit towards my next fix!
Click here to sign up for Stitch Fix

Anyway, on to the pictures of me trying to model what I got in my box.  In my note to my stylist I requested cropped pants that are work appropriate, a gray jacket that I saw in another blogger’s fix (I already have the same jacket in olive and love it), shorts, maxi skirts or dresses.

I got:

IMG_3059IMG_3062IMG_3063IMG_3057 IMG_3060 IMG_3061

(If you get a Birchbox every month you may recognize the tissue paper behind the cards, I use old Birchboxes to store my style cards).

IMG_2944

When I saw the stack I was excited about the colors!

1. Market and Spruce Char Printed Maxi Skirt- size L, $58

IMG_2981

IMG_2965 IMG_2963The skirt was super soft and I loved the gray print.  It came with a sewn in slip under it which I appreciated.  I styled it with a mint top like the style card showed.  The skirt was a little too short for my taste so I ended up sending it back.

2. Market & Spruce  Chaplin Lined Hooded Anorak Jacket- size M, $94

IMG_3004 IMG_2994 IMG_2945IMG_2947

So they sent the jacket I requested, but in the wrong color.  Don’t get me wrong, I love this navy jacket I just really want the gray!  This jacket fit perfect, had a cute red zipper and it was lined with super soft sweatshirt material. Look at the pockets, the cinched waist!  The hood is removable.  I thought for sure I would keep this but I took the three days to ponder I realized the gray would be more versatile.  So I am holding out for it. If I could keep this jacket in ever color I would, but the price does not make the logical.  So sad to see this one go.

3. Collective Concepts May Chevron Print Knit Back Top- size M, $54.00IMG_3024 IMG_2951 IMG_2953

I had this top pinned on my Pinterest board and was so thrilled to see it in my box! The material is super soft and the back is a little sheer which makes for a nice lightweight shirt.  You can’t tell in my top picture but it has a white band at the bottom that helps hold the shirt down, which I think makes it more flattering.  It was 105 degrees out when we took these pictures so I wasn’t spending too much time accessorizing but this would be cute with a mint or cobalt blue statement necklace.  I kept this shirt and applied my $20 styling fee to bring the price down to $34.  I can’t wait to try it with a blazer and pencil skirt too!

4. Pixley Milagra Ribbon Strap Blouse-size M, $48

IMG_3007 IMG_3013 IMG_2949The colors! The print! The ribbon straps and zipper detail!  I loved this shirt.  But sadly, it was too big.  I never thought a medium would be too big! The straps were way too long, and even if I got them altered there would still be like 4 inches of extra fabric in the width.  you can’t tell in the pictures but it really was hanging off of me.  Stitch Fix will send you another size if they have it, but you can’t return it if it doesn’t fit.  For $48 it wasn’t worth the risk for me to try a small so it sadly went back.

5. Margaret M Emer Printed Straight Leg Pant- size L, $98

IMG_3034 IMG_3031 IMG_3037  IMG_2957IMG_3040

These pants.  I was excited to get some Margaret M pants because in the Stitch Fix world people love them.  They pull on and are like fancy work leggings.  When I saw them I hated them, I hated them when I tried them on the first time.  I thought the print was too busy for full length pants.  I could not believe how high waist-ed they were, and they were a little short.  After looking at the pictures they began to grow on me.  As you can see there are some fit issues.  They don’t quite reach the top of my foot, are a little baggy in the crotch and were baggy in the waist and at the knees.  You can’t cuff them because they are only printed on one side and they have stretch to them so you know they will stretch out as you are wearing them.  So these very expensive work leggings went back.  I am not going to give up on this style though, it really did grow on me.  Hopefully they make them in long!

So this time I only kept one shirt but had so much fun trying everything on and convincing Anthony to take the pictures.  I am trying a new strategy with my Pinterest board next month and will tell you how it goes.  Remember if you want to try Stitch Fix I’d love it if you used my referral link!

https://www.stitchfix.com/referral/3871720

Love you more than 104 degree photo-shoots and chevrons,

Whitney

19 thoughts on “July Stitch Fix Review

  1. Pingback: Stitch Fix Review by Whitney – I had a great mail day! My July Stitch Fix Arrived! | Stitch Fix Reviews

  2. Pingback: August Stitch Fix Review Comes a Little Early | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  3. Pingback: Stitch-Tember | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  4. Pingback: Fix-Tober and other Fab Fall Fun | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  5. Pingback: November Stitch Fix | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  6. Pingback: My Comfort Zone Challenge | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  7. Pingback: February Stitch Fix Review | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  8. Pingback: March Mad-for-Fashion Stitch Fix Review | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  9. Pingback: April Stitch Fix Review | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  10. Pingback: Mothers and Others-Honoring Those Who Love Us | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  11. Pingback: May Stitch Fix Review-2016 Edition | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  12. Pingback: June 2016 Stitch Fix Review | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  13. Pingback: July 2016 Stitch Fix Review | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  14. Pingback: Stitch Fix Review August 2016 | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  15. Pingback: September 2016 Stitch Fix Review | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  16. Pingback: Stitch Fix Men is Here! | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  17. Pingback: November Stitch Fix Review | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

Leave a Reply

