We’re Going on an Adventure!

547485_568659709822_1795680451_n

Last November Anthony gave me a precious ring and asked me to go on all of life’s adventures with him.  Like Frodo and Sam from Lord of the Rings we have had our share of ups and downs. Anthony and I may not be Hobbits, but if we were I’d totally be the Sam to his Frodo.  Like our fine Hobbit friends we are headed on an adventure. We are leaving Mordor and are heading back to the Shire.  That is right, we are moving back to Oregon! Anthony has worked very hard to earn a promotion in our home state and it is an opportunity we cannot turn down.

When I first found out this was a possibility I was completely torn. When I moved to Phoenix five years ago I never thought I would call it “home.” But I was wrong.  I stumbled upon the job of my dreams; a job I didn’t even know existed and found a family.  Being a teacher at Archway North Phoenix has been such a blessing and a great place to grow into the happy adult that I am now.  To leave my job and the family that comes with it will be so hard.  At this point I don’t know if I will ever be a teacher again.  That is a harsh reality.  I don’t want to be a teacher in Oregon right now.  The choice that Arizona has just isn’t there yet, for teachers or parents.  So as of July 31st I will be on the hunt for my next dream job.

I knew that Anthony’s job opportunity in Oregon would mean the goals we have for our future would be a closer for us to grasp.  We are also going to be closer to the majority of our family.  We can have a garden and maybe things will actually grow!  I will live closer to my beloved ocean.  There are so many positive things that will come with this move.  It won’t be easy, but making the choice to be happy never is.  It takes a lot of prayer, thought and mostly action.  We have to remember that happiness is choice. The road isn’t always going to be smooth.

Leaving Arizona will not be easy.  We have a lot to do before we head to Oregon in mid to late August.  We have to figure out what to do with the house we just bought (know anyone who wants to rent a 4 bedroom in the Norterra area?).  We have to figure out where we are going to live in Oregon, and our poor kitties will have to make the long journey with us. We are in the middle of planning our December wedding, and my wedding dress is not expected to be in until October, and it is coming to Arizona.  Not to mention we need to sell the rest of our season tickets to the Diamondbacks game. There are a lot of things that we could let overwhelm us, but we are choosing to tackle one thing at a time.

Throughout this whole process I have begun to realize that while change can be scary and emotional the best time to make a change like this is when you are happy.  We are not depending on this move to change our outlook on life, or to give us a  fresh start.  We were/are both very happy with the way life is going!  I think because we are content it makes it easier to do this.  We are eager to see what lays ahead of us. If Sam and Frodo could complete their mission I think Anthony and I have good odds.

Love you more than shire gardens and new adventures,

Whitney

(Oregon or bust!)

Leave a Reply

