Rocksbox Review 1

IMG_1418So I have been Stitch Fixing for over a year now and love it, but I have selected not to receive accessories from them because I can often find pieces I love just as much for a better price.  And lets be honest, I really just want five pieces of clothing in my box. But I have been feeling like I need to step out of my accessory comfort zone of just statement necklaces.  Enter Rocksbox.  This subscription box service charges you $19 a month to essentially rent jewelry from them for as long as you want.  When you are done with them you can purchase what you like and send back what you don’t with their prepaid packing label.

If you want to become a Rocksbox Shine Insider here is what you do:

  1. go to www.rocksbox.com
  2. Take their style survey and put some pieces on your wishlist.  They recommend having 15 pieces on your wishlist; I have 30.
  3. They will then send you 3 pieces based on your wishlist with a personalized note.IMG_1419 IMG_1420 IMG_1421
  4. Try on the jewelry and see what you like!  There is no due date, but to get the most out the subscription I usually wear each piece once and then decide if I can’t live without them.  Returning is easy, just use the same package they send the jewelry in but put on the return label you will find on the bottom of the box and take it to the Post Office or stick it in your mailbox.  The company is located in San Francisco and turnaround from Oregon was quick.  Each month you get a $10 credit towards a purchase during that billing cycle.  I sent all three pieces in my first box back so I still had my monthly shine spend for my second box.

So let’s see what I got this time!

Gorjana Alma Cuff-$72

IMG_1429 IMG_1427

I had this cuff on my wish list.  It was cute, but a little large on me and the cute detail kept falling to the underside of my wrist.  I sent it back because I couldn’t justify the price if you can’t even see the detail.

House of Harlow 1960 Arrow Affair Ring in Gold-$30

IMG_1426 IMG_1425

When I saw this I thought for sure I would buy it. I had a ring similar to this on my wishlist, only it was silver.  Rocksbox try to curate sets to be warn together so they sent me this gold version.  It fit my ring finger on my right hand great and was pretty cute.  I decided that I didn’t love the black detailing behind the stones so back it went.

Jill Michael Bar Pendant Necklace in Gold-$38

Collective Concepts May Chevron Print Knit Back Top from Stitch Fix, Level 99 Liza Skinny Jean in Sun Grey from Amazon

Collective Concepts May Chevron Print Knit Back Top from Stitch Fix, Level 99 Liza Skinny Jean in Sun Grey from Amazon

IMG_1437

I was really unsure about this necklace because it seemed boring when I pulled it out of the box.  Like I said, I am used to styling with statement necklaces and this was delicate and subtle.  I put it on with this shirt and was sold.  I have tried quite a few necklaces with this bold print and nothing seems to work just right.  This did.  When I left feedback for my box (which you should do every time!) I asked for it in silver too!  I may even get adventurous and try to layer other delicate pieces with it! I thought the $28 dollars I would spend with my $10 monthly credit was worth it for a solid piece of jewelry that will go with many things.   When I checkout I noticed a $25 credit called “forever spend” was added as well and so I got this necklace for $3! After I did some digging it said one of my referrals signed up and that’s where the credit came from.

So here is my referral code: whitneybff162

Please use it during checkout if you sign up! Apparently I get $25 towards a purchase if you do.

I just sent my other items back and am waiting patiently for my next Rocksbox!

Until next time,

Love you more than shiny rings and pretty things,

Whitney

Leave a Reply

