Thanksgiving Musings


Happy Thanksgiving!

I have so much to be thankful for each and every year and this year is no exception.  Today Anthony and I have been engaged for exactly one year and will be married next month.  So next Thanksgiving I will be a wife…crazy!!! The year we have been engaged has been full of ups and downs and many changes, from job switches and moving to another state to living in hotels and motor homes. It has been a great adventure.

Recently we left the RV life and moved into a warm and cozy one bedroom apartment.  In the first few hours I realized that modern day living gives you a lot to be thankful for.  I thought I’d share with you some things that  I now appreciate greatly.  Here is a list of the random things I am thankful for today:

  1. Warm tap water-we rarely turned on the hot water heater because we were trying to make the propane last and sometimes after the rain it was hard to ignite it to turn it on.  So washing our hands was FREEZING!
  2. Showering in a private space-we have been showering in the public bathrooms at the RV park.  That meant sometimes having to wait for the shower or having people waiting for you which sure made you hustle faster than you wanted to.  Sorry legs, you rarely were shaved in these last few months.  Showering in the public restrooms also meant putting clothes on when you were still damp and then making a run for it back to the RV in the cold or rain with a wet head.  Brrrrrr.
  3. Having a washer and dryer in your house-The laundromat is always a crazy, weird place full of characters but I won’t really miss it.  Plus it is freaking expensive!!
  4. A decent internet connection-this is mostly a joke, but when you are trying to plan a wedding it really does help to be able to check your email or have web pages load in under five minutes. It was like having dial up again, only worse because I know what a fast connection is like.
  5. Having a kitchen-I  can cook again! Woo-hoo! Cooking in the RV was not easy and we could not keep many fresh ingredients on hand so I am a happy camper (or maybe now I’m a happy apartment dweller and I was a happy camper then?) now that we have full size appliances. And Anthony is grateful to have a dishwasher.  Now we just need the rest of our stuff to get here so we can have plates that are not paper to eat off of!
  6. Being able to flush the kitty litter. One of the best things about the litter we use is that it is made out of corn and can be flushed.  When you are in an RV that is not possible to so we were messing around with those little poo baggies and it wasn’t fun to have that smell in your living space longer than it had to be.
  7. Using a private toilet. Enough said.

I’m sure more little things to be thankful for will make themselves known as time passes.  Mostly I am thankful to have had these experiences.  Life is good.  We have a lot.  So recognizing that many of the things we assume to be standard are actually luxuries has been good for me.  I may have had cold fingers, or gained some weight from eating at restaurants more than normal (which was not the plan I had for the months leading up to my wedding), but I never had to sleep outside or go without food.  I got to spend time with my husband-to-be in cramped quarters and in conditions that weren’t ideal, but we still laughed every day. I will always look back on this time with fondness because of that.

I am so blessed with all that God has bestowed upon me. Not only do I have a more than adequate place to live, I have family that helped us when times were rough (thanks for letting us use the RV Mama and Papa!), a job that inspires me to live a life of virtue, friends who are always there, a man beside me that is strong, good and who takes care of me and endless opportunities to make the life I want.  My list at the top of the page may be silly, but sometimes it is the small and frivolous things that remind us we have so much to be thankful for.

This Thanksgiving I pray that you feel the light of hope even in your dark moments, that you have the courage to ask for help when you need it and that you catch more glimpses of the beauty and good in this world than ever before.

Until next time,

I love you more than private bathrooms and high speed internet,

Whitney

 

Leave a Reply

