Stitch Fix Review January 2017


~This post contains affiliaite links. I will earn a small commission if you sign up for Stitch Fix through my blog.

My January Stitch Fix arrived during a cold spell here in Oregon and was just the thing I needed to brighten up my day. In case you don’t know, Stitch Fix is my fashion subscription box obsession. They send 5 clothing pieces and/or accessories that have been curated by your personal stylist according to your style profile and requests. Then you have 3 days to try the clothes on in your house before deciding what to keep and what to send back in the prepaid bag they send you. Shipping is free both ways, you just pay a $20 styling fee that becomes a credit towards anything you purchase. If you keep everything you get 25% off.

I have had the same stylist, Jason, for a year and a half now and I am always impressed by what he sends. You can request to keep your stylist by emailing hello@stitchfix.com. So if you find a stylist that seems to get your style, definitely request to keep them. The longer they style you the better your fixes are. Sometimes it can take a few months of trial and error to find the right stylist for you. Give it time, it is worth it.

This month I asked Jason to send me a fix full of accessories and a blouse option for the amazing red pants he sent me last month. I wanted a budget friendly fix because with the holidays still in the rear view mirror I didn’t need to add any major pieces to my closet. Of course, Jason kept my requests in mind and sent a great fix.

IMG_2191.JPG

img_2188

1. Fun2Fun Walden Split Neck Blouse-Dark Grey, Medium, $44

img_1578

img_1697

img_1870

The color of this shirt is gorgeous. It is grey, but it has a blue tone to it that I love. I liked the subtle print and the rounded hem. The neckline was also a highlight because it has the cute split detail, but was not too low cut. Jason sent this to wear with my red pants, as requested, and I like the result more than I thought I would. The problem with this shirt is that it is completely sheer. Finding a camisole that was short enough to wear with the shirt without having to tuck it in was a huge problem. As much as I liked this shirt, I just could not spend $44 on a sheer shirt. If you want to request this one, you might want to size up because it does not have any stretch to it and the Medium was a little snug. Sadly, I sent this back.

2. 41Hawthorn Abrianna Longsleeve Knit Cardigan-Jewel Tone Purple, M, $48

img_1595-2

img_1901-2

img_1986-2

Let me just start by saying that this cardigan is the most amazing color. I love it. It is also very soft and light weight. The draped front is slimming and is my favorite cardigan style because it looks good as is, or tied in the front. For me to add a cardigan to my closet it has to pass a test, it must match at least 3 dresses and 3 shirts I already have. I was nervous this cardigan would not pass the test. Surprisingly, it matched so many things! My favorite and most unexpected combo was when I paired it with my bright orange dress. I loved the result of this bold color combo. I’m pretty sure this orange is one of the Pantone colors for spring so it is good to know it looks so great with this jewel tone purple. As much as I loved this cardigan I did not keep it. Like Jason mentioned in his note  have this cardigan in another  color and it did not hold up for as long as I would have liked as it pilled after a few wears. I let Stitch Fix know that the quality was the only reason I did not keep it and told Jason to send me more pieces in this color.

3. Octavia Palermo Stitch Detail Clutch-Teal Green, $38

img_1704

IMG_1281.JPG

I had quite a few clutches pinned on my Pinterest page and was so happy Jason sent one for me to try! I love that the braided detail and fringe. As you can see it also has a crossbody strap that is easily tucked inside. It is also a fairly good size. I love, love, love the look of this clutch. The only problem is, I did not love the color. It was just too dark and dusty looking for me. I think if it had been a brighter color or a neutral I would have kept this in a heartbeat. If this clutch came in the color of that cardigan above I would be in heaven. I am thinking of asking Jason to send this in another color when it is available.

4. Bay to Baubles Kenny Fringe Pendant-Silver, $28

img_1764

img_1818

img_1845

I love pendant necklaces and have been slowly growing my collection of them. I did not have a silver pendant and have been desperately wanting one. This one was just what I was looking for. I love the fringe look, but without the problem of tangling a lot of fringe necklaces have. The hammered metal look adds a little dimension to the necklace that just put it over the top for me. You will probably be seeing a lot of this in the future because it is easy to wear with a variety of outfits. Obviously I kept this necklace.

5. Bay to Baubles Gracie Geo Stud Set-Grey, $28

img_1640

img_1661img_1308

These earrings were very cute and the sheen reminded me of opals. I actually liked the idea of wearing a square on one ear and a triangle on the other. These earrings aren’t too big, so you could wear them with a lot of different outfits. Ultimately, I did not need two pairs off earrings that were so similar so I sent them back.

Fix #27 is in the books and even though I only kept the necklace I was really happy with this fix and my wallet is even happier. If you haven’t tried Stitch Fix I recommend you sing up today! With women’s, men’s, petites, maternity and plus size on the way Stitch Fix will exceed your fashion expectations. Special thanks to my husband for taking these pictures in the 29 degree weather.

Until next time,

I love you more than jewel tone purple and fringey fun,

Whitney

Check out my other Stitch Fix Reviews below:

December 2016

Stitch Fix Year in Review

November 2016

Fixing and Remixing

September 2016

August 2016

July 2016

June 2016

May 2016

April 2016

 

6 thoughts on “Stitch Fix Review January 2017

  1. Pingback: Stitch Fix Review By Whitney: Just What I Was Looking For | Stitch Fix Reviews

  2. Pingback: Stitch Fix Review February 2017 | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  3. Pingback: Exciting News: Stitch Fix Launched Plus Size Styling (and I am having a contest!) | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  4. Pingback: Stitch Fix Review March 2017 | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  5. Pingback: April 2017 Stitch Fix Review | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

  6. Pingback: Stitch Fix Review June 2017 | I Love You More Than Golden Retrievers and Stars

Leave a Reply

